The Ouija Journey – First Use

The Ouija board had arrived and been cleansed. The stage was set. I had chosen my son as my partner, and who you do the Ouija with is very important, so I’ll explain…

First, with the Ouija you need a partner you know and trust. They must have only good intention in alignment with your own. You must know them well enough to know that they are not under the influence of drugs or alcohol, and that their emotional state and lifestyle do lot leave them open to negative attachment.

They must also be of an open mind, and willing to take the session seriously as an attempt at spirit communication and not a game. That doesn’t mean you can’t have a little fun –  I believe a lighter atmosphere may actually be helpful. But if they’ll make off-colored jokes or not abide by the rules, find someone else.

For me my partner in this initial journey is my 14-year-old son. I might not usually recommend the Ouija for someone of such a young age, but he’s a bit different. He started seeing spirits and orbs when he was 11. Not often, but often enough. And he’s shown other signs of being mildly psychic and empathetic. He’s very comfortable with what he sees and has joined me at a public ghost hunt and several private ones in our own home.

Emotionally he is spiritual and strong. He has a healthy respect for the other side and a desire to help all creatures, living and dead. He’s dabbled successfully in animal communication and has a strong connection with the other side. He’s wanted to do this for a long time, but is cautious enough to want to do it the right way.

He’s been as excited as I have to begin the journey so last Saturday night we started down the road.

The first challenge was respecting my husband’s wishes not to bring the board into the house. I initially wanted to talk to our own ghosts, and since they are apparently from a farm that was on our land long ago, being outside shouldn’t be an issue. The only problem was that here in New Jersey was darned cold! We made ourselves a place to work on the back porch and reviewed the rules. Mom’s in charge – you need to do what I tell you, even if you don’t understand at the moment. No asking it to communicate in any way outside of the board. If I think anything that comes through might be negative we’ll tell it goodbye immediately I’ll take it from there. And whoever comes through, it’s imperative that we say goodbye and have it go back to wherever it came from before we close.

We began with prayer and our intent. We asked specifically to speak to any spirits that lived on our property and forbade anything not of the light to come through. We sat closely with the board on a small table between us, frozen fingers on the planchette, digital voice recorder running, and began.

Is there anyone here with us tonight?

Nothing. At least for maybe a minute. Then slowly, so slowly, the planchette began moving towards “Yes”. We followed with more questions…

Do you dwell on this property? – It moved very slowly to Yes.

Are you a male? – It moved faster to Yes.

How old were you when you died? – Nothing.

Do you know that you have died? – Nothing.

What year were you born? – More nothing.

Do you mind talking with us tonight? – Finally it moved again, slowly to No.

Did you ever live on this property? – Nothing.

Was there once a farm on this property? – It moved very slowly to Yes.

I mentioned how cold I my fingers were and that we’d need to quit soon, then asked it to spell its first name. The planchette moved very slowly towards T, pausing (or maybe not) then onto the G directly above it.

I mention that I was getting a little too cold and the planchette was moving really slowly, hinting to my son that maybe we should try again another night. Suddenly the planchette moved in the opposite direction down to “Goodbye”. I got the distinct impression it was sympathetic to my freezing condition.

I told it thank you for noticing how cold I was and we both thanked it for the session and said goodbye. As we were doing so the planchette shot hard and fast across the board towards me, the fastest it had moved all night. We moved it back to Goodbye and closed the session, telling the spirits they now needed to return to wherever they came from and that they were not allowed in our house unless they usually were in there.

It was a slow but interesting beginning to our journey. I haven’t done any property research on the previous farm to know the names of the of the previous owners or residents, so I’m hoping someday soon the Ouija will give me a name that I can someday verify. Having shared our home with spirits for many years we of course have a lot of questions. But in the end the goal is to see if there is some way we can help these souls, and possibly get them to cross over. Though I must admit, I’ll miss them when they’re gone.

That was a week ago and the weather has kept us from any further Ouija sessions, but soon, very soon, we’ll try again.

In the mean time, check out my new youtube trailer at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=63RoCkVPByU&feature=em-share_video_user.  The one exterior shot of a house is the back of my own place, including the porch where we did our Ouija session.

Leave a comment